Celebrating 25 years, 1995 - 2020

Craig Bushey Grabs Checkers in Tigers at Speedway 51


Aug 5, 2018

Finally it was a night that the Weather Gods didn’t throw a wrench into, and it provided for a great night of racing at Speedway 51 powered by the Autosaver Group in Groveton, New Hampshire. Winners on NAPA Night included Craig Bushey, Brendan Moodie, Tyler Thompson, Cody Leblanc and Jon Savage

Once again, a solid field of Perras Ace Hardware Tiger Sportsman was on hand to compete for bragging rights and a chance to claim the $500 bonus posted by Speedway 51 owner, Joey Laquerre. An early scrum sent the field scrambling and several cars to the pits with damage including last week’s winner, Bunker Hodgdon. Craig Bushey and Steve Heitz battled the final twenty-five laps side by side and nose to tail. Heitz made a slick move on lap thirty 31 and dove under Bushey and actually led that lap, but Bushey held on and raced home for the win. Heitz settled for second ahead of a fast closing Travis Calkins. Brothers Ryan Boutin and Kevin Boutin completed the top five. Bushey and Kevin Boutin won their preliminary rounds. Erik Messier picked up the $500 bonus after finishing in the 8th spot, as his finishing position was the lucky chip number.

Brendan Moodie defeated Craig Bushey and Brad Bushey in a three segment affair in the North Country Ford Late Model division.

Tyler Thompson battled hard in the Claudette and Dean’s Place Daredevil main event, scoring his first ever win at Speedway 51. Makita Giroux, Laci Potter, Jaxson Edwards and newcomer Jesse Laquerre completed the top five. Edwards carried the heat checkers.

The Northeast Mini Stock Tour was out in force on NAPA Night, and NAPA sponsored Cody Leblanc came home victorious over Matt Boucher, Mike Viens, Kodi Sabins and Nick Anderson. Sabins and Cayer were victorious in their heat races.

The Northeast Cyclone Tour made their debut and John Savage and Jared Plumley ran side by side the entire 30 lap grind, but Savage prevailed to go into the history books as the first ever winner. Jean Leblanc, Todd Derrington and Erick Banks rounded out the top five. Savage also won his qualifying heat.

Racing action resumes next Saturday night as Creative Counters of Lyndonville, Vermont presents the Summer Sizzler PASS 151 for the Pro Allstars Super Late Model Series. Joining them will be the PASS Mods, Perras Ace Hardware Tiger Sportsman, Claudette & Dean’s Place Daredevils, and the White Mountains Community College Cyclones. Post time is 6pm.

For more information visit the Speedway 51 website at www.speedway51int.com or call the Track hotline at 802-266-0240. Speedway 51 powered by the Autosaver Group is located at 78 Craggy Road in Groveton, New Hampshire.

FINISHES 8-04-2018