Celebrating 25 years, 1995 - 2020

Gerry DeGasparre Jr. Takes Checkers at Seekonk Speedway

5 Time Champ Gets First Win of Season in BFR Chassis LM

Brightman and DeGasparre pick up first wins of the season. Cavallaro repeats and Lineham finds redemption.


Mike Brightman of Acushnet shook off the bad week two he had, and bounced back to pick up his first win of the season in the A.R.C. Pro Stocks. Brightman started third on the grid, and ran there for the first several laps, until Tom Scully Jr and Fred Astle made contact, sending both to the rear. On the restart, Mighty Mike was able to move his Impact Collision Parts Ford past Dick Houlihan, and then slid under polesitter and leader Ken Spencer, Once out front, there was no looking back for the former Late Model Champion.


Kevin Casper had his best run in the Pro Stocks, picking up the second spot. At one point, he fell back to third, when Tom Scully Jr slid by, but was able to move his Phil’s Propane Ford back by the Jr Scully. While he was able to close the distance a bit on Brightman, he was unable to get past. Scully Jr held on for third, while Dave Darling and Ryan Vanasse rounded out the top five. Both Darling and Vanasse had to come from the back after a lap nine spin sent both drivers out of contention.

Five time Late Model Champion Gerry DeGasparre Jr picked up his first win of the season, besting last week’s winner Bobby Pelland III. Exeter’s Mike Marfeo set the early paces, before losing the lead from contact. Dylan Estrella picked up the lead, and set the pace for the restart, but DeGasparre outpaced the North Attleboro native, and put his A-1 Custom Auto Body Chevy out front. Estrella got hung up on the outside, and slid back to fourth, as points leader Dennis Stampfl snuck by as well.

DeGasparre survived a couple of restarts with Pelland lined up outside, and many thought Pelland might be able to repeat, but the A&A Auto Parts Chevy wasn’t strong enough to overtake DeGasparre. Pelland held on for second, with Estrella moving back into third, Bruce Rego fourth with Marfeo making it back into the top five.

For 25 laps, the Street Stocks had the fans on the edge of their seat, as the field diced three wide several times throughout their main event. Raynham’s Mark Henshaw set the early pace, until Ray Negley moved past and put his Nail’s By Viv Camaro to the front of the field. Henshaw started to back slide, and slid out of the top ten in the final rundown. Negley set the pace for a dozen laps, but was hounded throughout that time by Charles Beal, Scott Serydynski and Ryan Lineham. Beal was up to second, but slid back to fifth at one point as they raced through the middle portion of the event.

Lineham and Serydynski started mid pack, and proved the previous two weeks were a fluke, as they sliced their way through the pack, along with points leader and two time winner Paul Lallier. The three snaked through the field until they sat second, third, and fourth, behind Negley. Ray has a reputation as being one of the toughest drivers to get by, and he was proving that once again. But on lap 19, Lineham found a slight opening and jumped in, putting his Premier Homes & Remodeling machine underneath Negley. Serydynski, Lallier and Beal all slid past Negley, as Ray fell to fifth.  Over the final 5 laps, Scott hounded the leader, using just about every trick in the book, save for taking him out, but was unable to overtake the reigning champion. Ryan admitted to using just about every trick he knew to keep the Red Wing Shoes machine behind him. Lallier finished third, with Beal and Negley rounding out the top five.

Mike Cavallaro proved to be the Man on the Mountain, as he picked up his second Sport Truck feature win. The J Fortin Concrete Forms Chevy was on a rail, and once out front, was never challenged. Darryl Church took the early lead, and held on for the first two circuits, until North Dighton’s Dan Leach took over. Leach’s lead wasn’t for long, as the reigning Truck Champion moved to the front on lap 5.

The race went to the finish unstopped, as Cavallaro dominated this event to the finish. Leach finished second, with Scott Dion, Lenny Guy and Rick Martin rounding out the top five. Opening day winner was sidelined on a lap one incident, when Lenny Guy and Rick Martin got together, gathering Paiva, eliminating him from the event.

Pro Stock Top Ten: Mike Brightman, Acushnet; Kevin Casper, Somerset; Tom Scully Jr, Cranston; Dave Darling, Rehoboth; Ryan Vanasse, Warwick RI; Dick Houlihan, Bridgewater; Dick Benoit, Middleboro; Fred Astle Jr, Westport; John Dabrowski, Dorchester; Dave Silva, Warwick RI.

 Late Model Top Ten: Gerry DeGasparre Jr, Pawtucket, RI; Bobby Pelland III, Cranston RI; Dylan Estrella, N Attleboro; Bruce Rego, New Bedford; Mike Marfeo, Exeter, RI; Jeramee Lillie, Cranston RI; Dennis Stampfl, Norwood; Tyler Thompson, Somerset; Bill Bernard, Holliston; Danny Thibeault, Taunton.

 Sport Truck Top Ten: Mike Cavallaro, Seekonk; Dan Leach, N Dighton; Scott Dion, Taunton; Lenny Guy, New Bedford; Rick Martin, Westport; Nick Uhrig, Johnston, RI; Darrel Church, Brockton; Anna Gregoire, Hyannis; Billy Clark, Seekonk; Jim Hawkins, Attleboro.

Street Stock Top Ten: Ryan Lineham, Coventry RI; Scott Serydynski, Exeter RI, Paul Lallier, Attleboro; Charles Beal, Ledyard CT; Ray Negley, Coventry RI; Gerard Berthelette, North Smithfield, RI, Bobby Bettencourt Jr, Tiverton RI; Scott Bruneau, Tiverton RI; Sparky Arsenault, Attleboro; Crystal Serydynski, Johnston RI.


For more information, contact: http://seekonkspeedway.com/